Databases
Ancestry.com
Inside Library only
e-Books Overdrive Gale Databases Freegal Music Mango Languages
Filter by Subject
Filter by Letter
A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z View ALL View icons View Subject List
ResourceDescription

Sort for all Return to Top

Adult Learning CenterWhether you are going back to school, switching jobs, or just want to brush up on an academic skill, our adult learning center is here to help. HelpNow writing experts will help you craft a winning resume and coverletter or help you learn Microsoft Office applications including Word, Excel or Powerpoint. Also, get help studying for the GED or U.S. Citizenship Test; Brainfuse includes practice tests, live coaching and other helpful resources.
Ancestry.com - Library Edition
(Available inside library only)
The Ancestry Library Edition collection has approximately 4,000 databases including key collections such as U.S. Federal Census images and indexes from 1790 to 1930; the Map Center containing more than 1,000 historical maps, American Genealogical Biographical Index (over 200 volumes); Daughters of the American Revolution Lineage (over 150 volumes); The Great Migration Begins: Immigrants to New England, 1620-1630; Social Security Death Index (updated monthly); WWI Draft Registration Cards; Federal Slave Narratives; and a strong Civil War Collection.
Ask Us NowMaryland AskUsNow! is a 24/7 live online interactive service for the residents and students of the state of Maryland. It uses the expertise of trained librarians to provide answers to questions, research guidance, and help navigating the Internet. The librarian should be able to take you to various websites and will communicate with you using Internet chat. A normal session lasts no longer than 15-20 minutes. The librarian may offer to follow-up by e-mail if your question cannot be answered online in this timeframe.
Auto Repair ReferenceInformation on most major manufacturers of domestic and imported vehicles, with repair information for most vintage makes starting as far back as 1954.
Biography Reference BankBiography Reference Bank offering the in-depth, original profiles of Current Biography and World Authors series, the thorough periodical coverage of Biography Index, and the specialist biographical content of Junior Authors & Illustrators, this database contains biographical full-text articles, page images and abstracts from today’s leading magazines and journals—providing the most current coverage of an individual’s life and work.
Biography Reference CenterBiography Reference Center offers a comprehensive collection of more than 460,000 full-text biographies, including the complete full-text run of Biography Today and Biography, as well as thousands of narrative biographies that are not available in other databases.
BookFlixScholastic BookFlix is a new online literacy resource that pairs classic video storybooks from Weston Woods with related nonfiction eBooks from Scholastic to build a love of reading and learning. The engaging way to link fact and fiction, BookFlix reinforces early reading skills and introduces children to a world of knowledge and exploration.
Business Source PremierBusiness Source Premier is the industry's most popular business research database, featuring the full text for more than 2,200 journals. Full text is provided back to 1965, and searchable cited references back to 1998.
College Blue BookGuide to thousands of 2- and 4-year schools in the U.S. and Canada. Covers the expected listings and detailed descriptions, degree programs offered, scholarships, and occupational education programs.
College Blue Book, 39th ed.Guide to thousands of 2- and 4-year schools in the U.S. and Canada. Covers the expected listings and detailed descriptions, degree programs offered, scholarships, and occupational education programs.
College NavigatorCollege Navigator is your direct link to nearly 7,000 colleges and universities in the United States. If you are thinking about a large university, a small liberal arts college, a specialized college, a community college, a career or technical college or a trade school, you can find information on all of them here.
Consumer ReportsConsumerReports.org provides ratings and reviews, recommendations and buying advice across several franchises. Each product includes an overview and a ratings report card, as well as tester reviews & recommendations.
EBSCOhostReference databases designed for use in public libraries are made available via the user-friendly search system.
Encyclopedia of Small Business, ed. 2This convenient and exhaustive 2-vol. print reference source is designed to provide entrepreneurs with how-to information that they can apply to their own business. The Encyclopedia contains 600 detailed articles and overviews of all the key information needs of small business owners, including financing; financial planning; business plan creation; market analysis; sales strategy; tax planning, human resource issues and more.
Freegal MusicFreegal Music is a downloadable music service from your library. All that you need is your library card number. With access to the Sony Music Entertainment catalog, it offers hundreds of thousands of songs, over 100 genres of music, and more than 50 record labels, all without having to download special software or have any digital rights management (DRM) issues to deal with. Limit 3 downloads per week per Patron.
Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia, ed. 2A completely revised and updated version of the original work published in Germany in 1960, this edition incorporates recent developments in the animal world as noted by prominent advisors and contributors from the scientific community.
Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia: ExtinctionThis new supplement explores all aspects of extinctions and extinct life, featuring approximately 80 articles outlining major extinctions and related scientific areas. Entries are written by nationally renowned subject experts specializing in zoology, paleontology, and environmental science. Written for students and general researchers.
Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia: ExtinctionThis new supplement explores all aspects of extinctions and extinct life, featuring approximately 80 articles outlining major extinctions and related scientific areas. Entries are written by nationally renowned subject experts specializing in zoology, paleontology, and environmental science. Written for students and general researchers.
Help Now! Powered by BrainfuseHelpNow is a comprehensive suite of tutoring services designed for a range of academic needs; whether it's tackling a tough homework problem, learning an academic skill, or writing a term paper. “HelpNow” is available for students in grades K through Adult Learners in the following subjects: Math, Science, Social Studies, English/Language Arts that includes writing assistance and Reading Comprehension/Grammar/Vocabulary Skills Building, English Literature and Foreign Languages.
HeritageQuest OnlineHeritageQuest Online is designed specifically for patrons in public libraries who are either just beginning their family research or who after years of work are still uncovering their past.
Historic Newspaper Index of Washington CountyThis newspaper index for the Civil War years, 1860 – 1865 is part of The Historic Newspaper Indexing Project which is a subject and personal name index to local and regional news, legal notices, obituaries, marriages, and advertisements published in Hagerstown, Maryland newspapers from 1790 - 1844 and 1860 - 1865. The regions covered in the index are Frederick, Washington, Allegany and Garrett Counties in Maryland; Cumberland, Adams, Fulton and Franklin Counties in Pennsylvania; and Berkeley, Jefferson and Morgan Counties in West Virginia.
History Reference CenterHistory Reference Center is the world's most comprehensive full text history reference database, featuring full text for more than 2,000 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books from leading history publishers and more than 120 leading history periodicals. The database contains more than 59,600 historical documents; more than 49,600 biographies of historical figures; more than 110,200 historical photos and maps; and more than 80 hours of historical video
In The First PersonIn the First Person is a free, high quality, professionally published, in-depth index of close to 4,000 collections of personal narratives in English from around the world.
KidSearchKids Search is designed especially for youth in grades K-8 - powered by EBSCOhost
Legal FormsOfficial, State Specific, Federal, Business, Personal, Real Estate and General Forms covering hundreds of legal subjects and issues.
Literary Reference CenterLiterary Reference Center™ is a comprehensive database that provides users with a broad spectrum of information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and timeframes. It has been specifically designed for public libraries, secondary schools, junior/community colleges, and undergraduate research.
Mango LanguagesMango Languages offers 21 foreign languages for English speakers and 14 ESL programs for non-English speakers to learn English. You will learn real world conversational skills from native speakers in a few short minutes.
MAS Ultra - School EditionMAS Ultra - School Edition provides full text from over 460 periodicals covering general reference, health, science, and other areas. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for over 520 magazines. This database also includes over 3,000 charts, tables and graphs converted to ASCII text; 5,000 full text Magill Book Reviews; full text of 140 Macmillan books; over 540 health and science-related pamphlets in full text; coverage of the CIA World Factbook; and Essential Documents in American History.
MasterFILE Premier - PeriodicalsMasterFILE Premier provides full text for more than 1,900 general reference, business, consumer health, general science, and multi-cultural magazines.
MDCH - Maryland Digital Cultural Heritage ProjectThe purpose of the Maryland Digital Cultural Heritage Project is two-fold. First, the MDCH Project is a collaborative effort to digitize Maryland-related historical documents, images, audio, and video for Maryland's public libraries and cultural heritage institutions. Second, the MDCH Project website provides centralized, one-stop access to these culturally significant items that will benefit the patrons and staff of the libraries and cultural heritage institutions, as well as future generations, by promoting research, education, and tourism.
MedlinePlusMedlinePlus will direct you to information to help answer health questions. MedlinePlus brings together authoritative information from NLM, the National Institutes of Health (NIH), and other government agencies and health-related organizations. Preformulated MEDLINE searches are included in MedlinePlus and give easy access to medical journal articles. MedlinePlus also has extensive information about drugs, an illustrated medical encyclopedia, interactive patient tutorials, and latest health news.
Michie's Code of MarylandPublic record of Maryland statutes, current through all Acts of the 2009 Regular Session
Middle Search PlusMiddle Search Plus provides full text for more than 140 popular, middle school magazines. All full text articles included in the database are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). Full text is also available for thousands of biographies and historical essays. Middle Search Plus also contains 84,774 biographies, 105,786 primary source documents, and a School Image Collection of photos, maps and flags.
NovelistFind books to read and learn more about books and authors through Feature Articles, Book Discussion Guides, and BookTalks.
Novelist K-8NoveList K-8 contains materials for all K-8 grade levels and includes picture books, children's "chapter" books and young adult titles. Updated monthly, NoveList K-8 is your starting place for learning about the books that you and your students need and will want to read!
Overdrive - Maryland's Digital eLibrary ConsortiumBrowse hundreds of downloadable audiobooks! Check out and download best-selling titles to your PC, then transfer to a supported device or burn many titles to CD to enjoy anytime, anywhere.
Primary SearchContaining full-text for more than 80 of the most popular elementary school magazines, Primary Search is designed specifically for elementary school libraries.
Reference USA Business DatabaseInformation about 14 million U.S. Businesses
Reference USA Healthcare DatabaseWhen looking for detailed information on 675,000 doctors and 180,000 dentists, turn to ReferenceUSA's HealthCare Database.
Reference USA Residential DatabaseDatabase of over 100 Million US Residents to conduct market research, and locate friends and relatives.
Regional Business NewsRegional Business News provides full text for nearly 100 regional U.S. and Canadian business publications (including titles from Crain Communications).
Sanborn Maps for MDDigital Sanborn Maps, 1867-1970 provides access to more than 660,000 large-scale maps for more than 12,000 American towns and cities. Sanborn fire insurance maps are the most frequently consulted maps in libraries, and are valuable historical tools. In electronic form, Sanborn maps allow users to easily manipulate the maps, magnify and zoom in on specific sections, and layer maps from different years.
Science Reference CenterScience Reference Center™ is a comprehensive research database that provides easy access to a multitude of full-text science-oriented content. Designed to meet every student's science research needs, Science Reference Center contains full text for hundreds of science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals, and other sources.
SearchasaurusReference materials within Searchasaurus include magazines, encyclopedias, newspapers, books and more.
Student Research CenterStudent-friendly search of 140 full-text magazines and reference books including encyclopedias, dictionaries. Geared to middle school students.
Testing and Education Reference CenterPractice tests for college entrance, employment, and citizenship, plus college and career search help
Value Line ResearchInvestment information and analysis to meet the changing needs of investors.
WHILBR - Western Maryland's Historical LibraryAllegany, Garrett, and Washington Counties in Western Maryland have a rich and diverse history. View images from the collections of the libraries, historical societies, and individuals in the three counties. There are photographs, newspaper articles, and indexes, rare books and more.
ZinioZinio is the world's largest newsstand and bookstore. With its many digital products and services, Zinio creates better ways for people to discover published content, get more of it and do more with it. Now, readers can purchase content once to be read on any screen. Zinio provides the ability to shop for, search inside, read, share and save digital content in 23 local newsstands in any country in the world.

View Zinio User Guide

Watch the How to Use Zinio Video now.