Databases
Ancestry.com
Inside Library only
e-Books Overdrive Gale Databases Freegal Music Mango Languages
Filter by Subject
Filter by Letter
A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z View ALL View icons View Subject List
ResourceDescriptionHelp
History Return to Top
American DecadesCovers 20th-century events and social history beginning in 1900 and ending in 1999. Each decade is covered, with a chronology of world events and a general overview of the decade. Within each topic, alphabetically arranged entries discuss historically important events, issues, definitions of difficult concepts or terms, and other interesting trivia and sideline stories. 
Atlas of the Civil WarThis atlas describes the Civil War in five chronological sections, each of which frames the war as both a military conflict and a substantial social force that shaped the United States. In addition to substantial coverage of the war's multiple military theaters, this atlas also devotes substantial attention to nonmilitary elements of the struggle. Maps of population, economic development, elections, transportation networks, and patterns of enlistment accompany the text articles to better illuminate the war's social impact. 
Historic Newspaper Index of Washington CountyThis newspaper index for the Civil War years, 1860 1865 is part of The Historic Newspaper Indexing Project which is a subject and personal name index to local and regional news, legal notices, obituaries, marriages, and advertisements published in Hagerstown, Maryland newspapers from 1790 - 1844 and 1860 - 1865. The regions covered in the index are Frederick, Washington, Allegany and Garrett Counties in Maryland; Cumberland, Adams, Fulton and Franklin Counties in Pennsylvania; and Berkeley, Jefferson and Morgan Counties in West Virginia. 
Historical Atlas of the Islamic WorldAmong the great civilizations of the world, Islam remains an enigma to Western readers. Now, in a beautifully illustrated historical atlas, noted scholar of religion Malise Ruthven recounts the fascinating and important history of the Islamic world. 
History Reference CenterHistory Reference Center is the world's most comprehensive full text history reference database, featuring full text for more than 2,000 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books from leading history publishers and more than 120 leading history periodicals. The database contains more than 59,600 historical documents; more than 49,600 biographies of historical figures; more than 110,200 historical photos and maps; and more than 80 hours of historical video 
In The First PersonIn the First Person is a free, high quality, professionally published, in-depth index of close to 4,000 collections of personal narratives in English from around the world. 
MDCH - Maryland Digital Cultural Heritage ProjectThe purpose of the Maryland Digital Cultural Heritage Project is two-fold. First, the MDCH Project is a collaborative effort to digitize Maryland-related historical documents, images, audio, and video for Maryland's public libraries and cultural heritage institutions. Second, the MDCH Project website provides centralized, one-stop access to these culturally significant items that will benefit the patrons and staff of the libraries and cultural heritage institutions, as well as future generations, by promoting research, education, and tourism. 
WHILBR - Western Maryland's Historical LibraryAllegany, Garrett, and Washington Counties in Western Maryland have a rich and diverse history. View images from the collections of the libraries, historical societies, and individuals in the three counties. There are photographs, newspaper articles, and indexes, rare books and more.